close my eyes

I’m a happy camper coz a friend from Singapore gave us Stinky The Great Spy Experiment‘s Flower Show Riots for him to review in a local music mag. Autographed some more (thanks, Chloe!!)! I’m a big fan of their song, Class A Love Affair. The other songs in the album don’t quite have the impact as that song does, but they do grow on you. It’s been written in the Singapore media that they spent SG$40,000 on the album. A rather astonishing sum IMHO, and something which is sure to rankle a lot of people in the local music scene, if not already.

Having a partner whose free time and energy is spent on making and playing music, I naturally spend quite some time going to gigs and making acquaintances there. As an outsider looking in, I’m prolly not qualified to bitch about the goings on I see at such events, but delusions are delusions no matter how highbrow or plebeian an event. I’ve lost count the number of bands who’ve materialised, played a few shows, made a splash within the hipster community (re. non-CD buyers), get a few write-ups in the media and then think they are the Next Big Thing and the saviour of the underground scene. A few months later they fade away and the next thing you know, they’ve formed completely new bands in a whole different music genre and the cycle begins again. It would be laughable if it weren’t so sad. Big fish, small pond syndrome is alive and well in Malaysia. Haha. It’s a good thing Stinky’s musically inclined friends can’t don’t read blogs or else I’m toast. They hate me enough already for yawning away during their brilliant sets. Then again, if they do read this post, they prolly won’t see themselves in it. 😀

2 Comments

Filed under music, people, Stinky

2 responses to “close my eyes

  1. Hmmm…

    I understand what you mean about some of the local underground bands.

    btw, have you listened to my songs? i put the link here. Tell me what you think.

  2. thanks for the info, azwad.

Leave a Reply

