making time

books books books!

It’s been a good week in terms of CDs and books acquisitions, though my wallet and Stinky’s prolly wouldn’t agree. Before Andrew’s Music Magic closed its doors for the last time in CM, we made one final assault and came away with:

  • Parachutes – Coldplay
  • The Essential Electric Light Orchestra – ELO
  • Marble Arch Years boxset – Kinks
  • My Generation (Deluxe Edition) – The Who

Not bad, if I say so myself. It’s been an absolute blast listening to ELO in the mornings on the way to work. Our current favourite song is Livin’ Thing and we just love singing along to it, especially during the falsetto parts.

As for books, I’m sorry to say I did not succeed in not buying any new ones. I had made a resolution that I would make a dent on all the Geology textbooks I had recently acquired from Betterworld Books, but that plan fell flat last night. I went to Kino with the sole purpose of getting a couple LP guides (all travel books on 20% discount till 31st March) but came away instead with the stack of books you see above. I guess Pettijohn’s Sedimentary Rocks will just have to wait.

Bali/Lombok trip next week and Stinky, Lil and I have yet to secure rooms, organise itinerary and purchase connecting tickets. Nada. This must be the most disorganised vacation all three of us have ever been on. Haha.

5 Comments

Filed under books, music, travelling

5 responses to “making time

  1. abby

    I LOVE ELO TOOOOOOO! evil woman is one of my favourites

  2. just book the hotel rooms when you get there. i hear you can even ask to just view the rooms before you make any bookings.

  3. thegrouch

    abby: there’s just something about their music that puts a smile on my face. very singalong too!
    nini: yup. we’ve narrowed down our list somewhat. what we’d really like is a bungalow by the beach where we can run down to in the morning for a swim then come back and have brekkie. man, we’re so excited! lil and i are absolute suckers for beaches.

  4. AA

    Pettijohn… I thought you’ve mastered that during the Uni days… he.. he.. he..

    AA

  5. thegrouch

    masa uni tak jumpa buku dialah 😀
    anyway i passed sedimentology by the skin of my teeth. haha.

Leave a Reply

