i never meant to cause you trouble

In anticipation of moving to our new apartment, I have been a bit more enthusiastic about scrubbing mildew off the bathroom walls in our current home. I am a model tenant see, and would like to leave the place as relatively clean and unscathed as we first moved in. Unfortunately I can’t do much for the brownish marks on the wall caused by George (I swear that cat has black drool) but I can get rid of unsightly watermarks and mold. In my quest, I have unfortunately had to use a whole arsenal of cleaning solutions which aren’t all that nice to my skin and nose. In comes Umbra and a host of other, more natural substitutes. I guess I will use up that old bottle of vinegar after all.

I went see Boss#1 this morning and to wish him well in his new assignment and location. He brought up the subject of my own transfer and said I was definitely on the list. “You don’t need another geologist in Beijing?” I asked. He laughed. Guess that means no peking duck for me.

I’ve finished reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne. It has rather mixed reviews in amazon.com but I personally thought it was an amazing book. Bruno, the German boy is kinda stupid at times but he doesn’t have a mean bone in his body. I kept wondering whether I’d have realised what was happening if I were in his place. Being the pampered son of the Out-With (Auschwitz) Camp Commandant probably distorts your sense of reality.

Last night Stinky and I were stuck in a traffic jam on Jln. Tun Razak. We had planned to go to Great Eastern Mall. I wanted to replenish my stock of Waitrose’s Earl Grey tea. We turned into the KLCC tunnel instead and proceeded to convince ourselves that we deserved a dinner at Chilli’s. So we went and asked the waitress to bring us a Triple Play, Kid’s Beef Burger and Molten Chocolate Cake – simultaneously. We had a lot of fun, believe you me, except for Stinky in  the end. He smeared chocolate all over his white work shirt and got a huge scolding from the person who’ll have to do his laundry.

Leave a comment

Filed under apartment, environment, food, Stinky, work

Leave a Reply

