‘Classic’. A book which people praise and don’t read – M.Twain


I have always bemoaned the fact that I pick and read books for enjoyment rather than education or as Brian Walden of the BBC’s says, ‘moral improvement’. Oh yes, I have some classics on my bookshelves. Titles like To Kill a Mockingbird, Catch 22, The Jungle Book, The Iliad, The Plague Dogs, Watership Down, 1984, Oliver Twist, etc, etc, but except for a lucky few, I’ve found these ‘must-read-classics-before-you-die’ uhhhhh..boring. I have yet to finish Catch 22. I thought it was unbelievably s l o w. I don’t even remember what it was about (war? if it was about war, I thought All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque way better, more sincere, extremely sad). Most of the time I buy them out of a sense of guilt that I haven’t read or even like these books that are so globally acclaimed. So I keep buying them at various 2nd hand bookshops and promise myself that I will read them one day. I will. In the meantime I read more gripping stuff like Elie Weisel’s Night, Jon Krakauer’s Under the Banner of Heaven and Mills & Boon’s latest trashy romance offering. Hehe. That was why I thought the article by Brian Walden so thought-provoking and worthy of being saved in my list of favourite links. I’ll definitely get Melvyn Bragg’s book, that’s for sure. Maybe this’ll finally start me on that pile of books hiding behind 2005’s CLEO magazines.

Ahhh…snapiolas, piccies, photos. All here for your viewing pleasure.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

